50% Off Award Stays at The Venetian and The Palazzo in Las Vegas!

Please note this site has financial relationships with American Express and this post may contain affiliate links. Read my Advertiser Disclosure policy here to learn more about my partners.

IHG Rewards is known for sometimes offering discounted award nights both via the 5,000 points per night PointBreaks list, but also via some 24 hour flash award sales.  A popular flash award sale they have offered in the past was 50% off award nights at the The Venetian and The Palazzo (InterContinental Resorts) in Las Vegas, and it looks like they will be offering that sale again on March 10th for 24 hours!

50 off Las Vegas IHG

For just 25,000 points (instead of the normal 50,000) you will be able to book award nights at these two properties on the Strip in Vegas for dates from March 10, 2015 – December 28, 2015.  There are some blackout dates from the promotion including:

3/25/2015, Wed, 3/26/2015, Thu, 3/27/2015, Fri, 4/14/2015, Tue, 4/15/2015, Wed, 5/3/2015, Sun, 5/18/2015, Mon, 5/19/2015, Tue, 5/23/2015, Sat, 5/24/2015, Sun, 5/29/2015, Fri, 5/30/2015, Sat, 6/19/2015, Fri, 6/20/2015, Sat, 8/17/2015, Mon, 9/5/2015, Sat, 9/18/2015, Fri, 9/19/2015, Sat, 9/28/2015, Mon, 9/29/2015, Tue, 10/6/2015, Tue, 10/7/2015, Wed, 11/2/2015, Mon, and 11/3/2015, Tuesday.

If you want to take advantage of this sale, remember that if you already have some points in your account, you can also “buy” additional points at a cost of $0.007 each (for a total of about $175 in points per night) – check out this post by Million Mile Secrets for details on that method of obtaining IHG Rewards points.  If you already have IHG points in your account via the70,000 point IHG® Rewards Club Select Credit Card sign-up bonus (advertized to end on 3/31), or other methods, those could be perfect to use, too!

There are obviously cheaper places to stay in Las Vegas, but on weekends the rates to stay at the big resorts on the Strip can get pricey, so this could be a very good alternative.

Thanks to @LoyalUA1K for tweeting me about the upcoming sale!

Editorial Note: The opinions expressed here are mine and not provided, reviewed, by any bank, card issuer, or other company unless otherwise stated.

Disclaimer: The comments below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

Pingbacks

Comments

  1. What does the count down to the right signify? Mine is counting down with 40+ minutes to go….It is slightly confusing as its not available until 03/10??

    Well, Ill be looking at this….got a stay coming up in October. Saves me 75,000 PC points!

  2. I’m planning to stay at the Venetian in early April and debated transferring some Chase UR points to take advantage. But the rack rate there is only about $200 a night during my stay, so even the 50% discount isn’t a good value points redemption. I suppose if I had some IHG points lying around, but no such luck at the moment. My takeaway: check the cash price first – Vegas apparently fluctuates wildly meaning that this could be a screaming deal for some or a total bust for others.

    • Leslie, absolutely. Vegas hotels can range from dirt cheap to pretty pricey depending on the day of the week and what is going on in town that night. Personally I would recommend buying IHG points at 7/10 of a cent each over transferring in from UR unless you need to get the minimum of 5,000 in your account to use the 7/10th of a cent trick.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *